7.6. System Services (Runlevel)

After starting this YaST module, it displays an overview listing all the available services and the current status of each service—whether they are enabled. Decide whether to use the module in Simple Mode or in Expert Mode. The default Simple Mode should be sufficient for most purposes. The left column shows the name of the service, the center column indicates its current status, and the right column gives a short description. For the selected service, a more detailed description is provided in the lower part of the window. To enable a service, select it in the table then select Enable. The same steps apply to disable a service.

Figure 7.1. System Services (Runlevel)

System Services (Runlevel)

For detailed control over the runlevels in which a service is started or stopped or to change the default runlevel, first select Expert Mode. In this mode, the dialog displays the current default runlevel or “initdefault” (the runlevel into which the system boots by default) at the top. Normally, the default runlevel of a SUSE LINUX system is runlevel 5 (full multiuser mode with network and X). A suitable alternative might be runlevel 3 (full multiuser mode with network).

This YaST dialog allows the selection of one of the runlevels (as listed in Table 7.1, “Available Runlevels”) as the new default. Additionally use the table in this window to enable or disable individual services and daemons. The table lists the services and daemons available, shows whether they are currently enabled on your system, and, if so, for which runlevels. After selecting one of the rows with the mouse, click the check boxes representing the runlevels (B, 0, 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, and S) to define the runlevels where the selected service or daemon should be running. Runlevel 4 is initially undefined to allow creation of a custom runlevel. A brief description of the currently selected service or daemon is provided below the table overview.

With Start, Stop, or Refresh, decide whether a service should be activated. Refresh status checks the current status. Set or Reset lets you select whether to apply your changes to the system or to restore the settings that existed before starting the runlevel editor. Selecting Finish saves the changed settings to disk.

[Warning]Changing Runlevel Settings

Faulty runlevel settings may render a system unusable. Before applying your changes, make absolutely sure that you know their consequences.

SUSE LINUX Administration Guide 9.3